Six Nations

Six Nations Betting: Your Complete Guide To 2020

The Six Nations is one of the most exciting times for the year for rugby union fans and once again the tournament will be hotly contested between the Home Nations, alongside Italy and France.

Wales will be looking to defend their crown after success last year, but it’s one that is there for the taking and here at Oddsmanager.co.uk we’ll be here to provide you with all the latest odds, predictions and Six Nations betting offers.

The tournament itself is in its 21st year as a six team competition, although it dates back as far as 1883.

2019 provided a breathtaking year in rugby, and it’s all set to start with a bang once again when the competition gets underway on February 1.

All You Need to Know About the Six Nations

The Six Nations is ultimately a league based competition fought for between six countries, with the overall winner being the team sat at the top of the table.

Within the Six Nations you’ll find England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales joined by France and Italy, with each team playing each other once.

Four points are awarded to the winning team in each game, with a bonus points awarded should a team score four tries in a match and to teams that lose by seven points or fewer.

Should a team win all five of their matches, three bonus points are also awarded.

Within the tournament you’ll also find trophies up for grabs within the specific matches, more of which is explained below.

Six Nations Trophies

There are a number of different trophies and prizes up for grabs, with three main awards, and six separate trophies based upon particular matches.

The main prize is of course the Championship Trophy, awarded to the winner of the Six Nations league. This is the team which finished top of the table.

However, a Grand Slam and Triple Crown can also be won dependent on results during the tournament.

The Grand Slam is awarded to a team that wins all their games in the competition, while a Triple Crown is awarded to one of the Home Nations should they win all their games against other Home Nations. So, for example, England would have to beat Ireland, Wales and Scotland to win the Triple Crown.

As well as this, there are also rivalry trophies which are awarded for winning a specific match. These are:

  • Calcutta Cup: England v Scotland
  • Millennium Trophy: England v Ireland
  • Centenary Quaich: Ireland v Scotland
  • Giuseppe Garibaldi Trophy: France v Italy
  • Auld Alliance Trophy: France v Scotland
  • Doddie Weir Cup: Wales v Scotland

Six Nations Betting Odds

Of course, when it comes to Six Nations 2020 odds, the opportunities are endless.

The number of markets you can bet on is ample, and you’ll always find the likes of Tournament Winner, Grand Slam and Triple Crown outright odds on any major bookmaker.

After a big World Cup last year, England go into the tournament as heavy favourites, while Ireland are also ahead of Wales, with Italy most likely to pick up the wooden spoon.

Below you’ll find the full Six Nations 2020 betting odds for the Tournament Winner market.

England are also heavily backed to pick up the Triple Crown at 4/6 with Paddy Power, with the Grand Slam for the favourites at 6/4.

You’ll also find plenty of player betting markets pre-tournament, including top try scorer and top point scorer.

Owen Farrell is favourite in the latter, with Jonny May, who had an excellent World Cup tipped by the bookies to score the most tries.

Six Nations 2020 Predictions
It’s going to be an interesting tournament and while England are huge favourites given their development over the last year, it’s difficult to rule out the passion and togetherness of the Welsh and the grit of the Irish.

A Triple Crown for any of those might be difficult and we’d expect a close run contest between the top two, with perhaps England just having enough thanks to their attacking prowess and capabilities of Farrell.

England to Win and Wales to finish second looks a solid wager at 11/4 with William Hill, while we’d also be keen to wager a double of Jonny May to be top try scorer and Owen Farrell to be top point scorer at 7/1 with the same bookmaker.

They’re the two standout figures going into the tournament and will be instrumental in any success the English have.

2020 Six Nations Fixtures & Schedule
The Six Nations runs across February, beginning on the 1st of the month with the last games taking place on March 14.

The full list of Six Nations 2020 fixtures are:

Round 1
February 1, 2020:

Wales v Italy
Ireland v Scotland
February 2, 2020:

France v England
Round 2
February 8, 2020:

Ireland v Wales
Scotland v England
February 9, 2020:

France v Italy
Round 3
February 22, 2020:

Italy v Scotland
Wales v France
February 23, 2020:

England v Ireland
Round 4
March 7, 2020:

Ireland v Italy
England v Wales
March 8, 2020:

Scotland v France
Round 5
March 14, 2020:

Wales v Scotland
Italy v England
France v Ireland
Six Nations Best Betting Sites & Betting Offers
There are tons of great bookmakers offering Six Nations 2020 odds, with the below among those offering the best value on both individual match bets and Six Nations outright odds:

Paddy Power
William Hill

Which Betting Markets Can I Bet on The Six Nations

The list is pretty endless when it comes to Six Nations betting markets, with a large range available.

Among the more popular with punters are:

  • Tournament Winner: Predicting the winner of the Six Nations 2020
  • To Win A Grand Slam: Predicting a team to win all five matches
  • To Win A Triple Crown: To beat all three Home Nations opposition
  • Top Try Scorer: Player to score most tournament tries
  • Top Points Scorer: Player to score the most tournament points

Six Nations Best Betting Tips & Strategies

The Six Nations can be an unpredictable beast but there are ways to boost your chance of winning, and that’s often to do with analysing the market.

With all our rugby union tips we explore and analyse the following to help influence our tips:

  • Player Form
  • Team Form
  • Head-to-Head
  • Context of the Game
  • Injuries & Suspensions
  • Press Conferences
  • Team Styles

From there you can find key insight into how a game may play out, who the influential players will be and place your bets accordingly.

Six Nations Past Winners

In the last decade, the Six Nations has been dominated by three countries, with Wales the current defending champions.

Below you’ll find the winners of the last seven Six Nations titles:

  • 2019: Wales
  • 2018: Ireland
  • 2017: England
  • 2016: England
  • 2015: Ireland
  • 2014: Ireland
  • 2013: Wales